Pulled Pork with Spicy Cole Slaw

 

Pulled Pork gets put into the comfort food category for sure!  I never ate pulled pork growing up, it just wasn’t one of the dishes my mom would make.  Once I ventured out and began experimenting with friends, I found this absolutely, to die for recipe:

Depending on the size pork you use.  I have used a 15lb pork tenderloin before and these are the quantities I used.  This is an extremely convenient meal if you’re looking to cook for a large group of people.  It’s super simple and very tasteful! 

 

Place the pork in a bowl for at least 6 hours in the Brine in the refrigerator.  Add water to the Brine Solution, enough to cover the pork completely. 

 

Brine Solution:
1/2 cup salt
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 TBS Dry Rub mix
2 bay leaves

 

Rub the Rub on the pork :) Be sure to cover the pork completely with the Dry Rub.  Bake at 225 degrees.  Like I said, depending on the size – if you have one of the smaller prepackaged pork tenderloin(2 in a package) that is about 2lbs, you will only need to bake for 4 1/2 hours.

Dry Rub:

 

1 TBS ground cumin
1 TBS garlic powder
1 TBS onion powder
1 TBS chili powder
1 TBS cayenne pepper
1 TBS salt
1 TBS ground pepper
1 TBS paprika
1/2 cup brown sugar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cider Vinegar Barbecue Sauce:
1 1/2 cups cider vinegar
1 cup yellow or brown mustard
1/2 cup ketchup
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
2 garlic cloves, smashed
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cayenne
1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

Place all of the ingredients into a small sauce pan and bring to a boil.  Let simmer for about 15 minutes.

 Spicy Cole Slaw

 

  • 1 Pkg. of Broccoli Slaw
  • ½ Pkg. of Shredded Carrots
  • 1 Red Chile, sliced
  • 1 cup of Mayo
  • ¼ cup spicy mustard
  • 1 TBS Cider
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • ½ tsp. celery seed
  • Pinch of sugar
  • 3-4 dashes of hot sauce
  • Salt/Pepper to taste

Blend all of the ingredients together!  I don’t typically eat Cole Slaw, but this is a keeper!

I bought some very delicious Wheat Buns to complete my dinner!

As you can see, I made some delicious corn bread to go along with the pulled pork sandwich.  Apparently you can’t have one without the other, so I’m told!  I never ate corn bread before (I know, I’ve been missing out!) but everyone always talks about how delicious it is, so I had to try making it for myself.  Here’s the recipe I used:

 

Ingredients

 

  • 2/3 cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 2/3 cups milk
  • 2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 4 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Directions

  1. In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar. Add the eggs and milk, stir together. Combine flour, cornmeal, baking powder and salt; add to creamed mixture.
  2. Pour into a greased 13-in. x 9-in. x 2-in. baking pan. Bake at 400 degrees F for 22-27 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cut into squares; serve warm.

This came out soooo good – it’s surprising that we still have some left over!  As you can see, my sister and hubby couldn’t wait to grab a piece so here’s the only picture I have of the finished Corn Bread!

A lot of work went into this meal, but it was worth every minute of it.  The satisfaction of eating it was great!  Needless to say I did some running to burn off all of the brown sugar that is involved.  I’m still sore from the Circuit Training on Sunday and my 3 mile run yesterday, but after eating my delicious pulled pork sandwich I had no excuse but to work out! 

We are almost half way through the week boys and girls – are you sticking to your workout goals?  Can you believe its Thanksgiving next week! 

What is your favorite Thanksgiving dish?  Is there a way to substitute some of the more “fattening” ingredients to make the dish more healthy without losing any flavor? 

 

 

This entry was posted in My Favorite Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pulled Pork with Spicy Cole Slaw

  1. YUM! Looks delish. I’ll have to try this recipe. I’ve never made pulled pork before.

  2. Much informative and useful article… I like it personally…
    [url=http://hearthealthydietplan.blogspot.com/]Heart Healthy Diet [/url]

Leave a Reply

