Auntie Lou’s (Chocolate) Banana Bread

Need I say more?  I don’t like bananas, but we all know that they are very healthy for you and the potassium helps you from getting extremely sore after a long run.

3 Ways to force yourself to eat Bananas by hiding the flavor:

  1. Add them to yogurt with granola
  2. Make Banana Bread and add chocolate
  3. Make a delicious fruit smoothie

1 & 3 would be the most ideal, but if you haven’t gotten through your banana’s by the end of the week, you might as well make good use of them and make some banana bread.  The recipe I use was given to me by a family friend.  She used to always make it and bring it into work.  At first I was stubborn and said that since I didn’t like bananas there would be no way I’d like banana bread(this was in my fatter and unhealthy days before Fitness4Looks).  But then, I saw chocolate on the bread and thought – that has got to taste good!  You can put chocolate on anything and it will taste fabulous!    that’s my opinion…

Auntie Lou’s Banana Bread (I felt that since I was given the recipe, I couldn’t change the name since I didn’t alter any ingredients)

Ingredients:

  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 cups Sugar
  • ½ cup butter (1 stick at room temperature)
  • 6 mashed bananas
  • 3 cups Flour
  • 2 tsp. Baking Powder
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • 1 cup Walnuts
  • 1/3 cup mini chocolate chips

Beat the eggs, sugar and butter.  Add the bananas, flour, baking powder and salt.  Beat all together until thoroughly mixed.  Stir in walnuts.  Pour into 2 greased loaf pans.  Sprinkle chocolate chips on the top of the batter.  If you use larger chocolate chips, stir them into the batter for a sweeter bread (as shown in this photo).  Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

Banana bread is so good – I can’t believe it took me 25 years to taste it.  Pop Quiz – I did not eat banana bread for the first year of my life, and I have only been eating it for the past 12 months, How old am I?

There are so many different types of breads out there.  I am going to start making a new bread on Sundays.  Mainly because I like to bake, but also, the hubby needs to switch up his breakfast.

What’s your favorite type of bread?

Have a fabulous day – Happy Hump Day!

This entry was posted in Fabulous Breads. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Auntie Lou’s (Chocolate) Banana Bread

  1. Your banana bread looks great! I could seriously live off of bread and cheese for the rest of my life. All bread is good bread!

  2. Merely wanna remark on few general things, The website style and design is perfect, the subject matter is very superb : D.

Leave a Reply

