One step at a time…

One Step at a Time

I’m tired, exhausted, fatigued, did I mention tired?  I struggled to get up at 5:45 this morning…but I did because I knew I would have no time other opportunity to work out today since I have online homework and a book club meeting tonight.  It probably doesn’t help that we went out to dinner & drinks last night with some friends for a Relay for Life benefit.  Oh well, you only live once!  So I went to the gym, and ran 5 miles in 47 minutes.  That’s a record!  I have not been able to beat my 48:30 minute time for weeks now.  The adrenaline rush I had after I ran and stretched stayed with me until I got home and I got the bright idea to ride my bike with a helmet to work.  It was a completely bad idea, since it was freeeeeezing out, but I was extremely happy I did it. 

A good friend once told me that on the days you just don’t feel like working out, those are the days that count the most, those are the days that you push yourself and those are the days that make you stronger. I’m 100% living proof it really works.  I never ran before, ever…If you asked me 6 months ago if I could run 5 miles, I’d laugh and say NO WAY.  Running is a mental thing.  Don’t look at the telephone poles you pass on the street, don’t look at the treadmill recording the distance, look straight ahead and listen to some good tunes.  Today, my song that motivated me was “one step at a time” by Jordan Sparks.  That’s exactly how you should take any sort of life changing experience.  Have you taken your first step today to make your healthier lifestyle change?  🙂

This entry was posted in Getting Personal, My favorite Tunes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One step at a time…

  1. secasey says:

    I love running the Jordan Sparks! “Battlefield” is my jam! Good for you for setting a new milestone today! Keep up the hard work 😉

  2. agnesl says:

    God yes, that is so true about working out on the days when you don’t feel like it. I’m living with the fourth month of heavy snow and biting cold – so those days are quite a few. But so far I have managed at least 40 minutes outdoors a day, walking or running, and feel so much better for it. Can’t wait for the running season to start though! http://mydailyburn.wordpress.com/

  3. savery says:

    Good for you Judy! I am gonna try and start running next week when we are back home!

Leave a Reply

