Official Challenge Rules

Last nights dinner was very healthy and very nutritious.  Baked Chicken Thighs, Steamed Zucchini, & Mashed Cauliflower.  Next time, I won’t bother mashing the cauliflower and adding milk to it for a “mashed potatoe” idea.  Wasn’t worth it at all.  Personally I like cauliflower, so I would have been happy with just eating it steamed.  I didn’t add anything to the veggies, just let them steam.  I added some Italian Bread Crumbs to the chicken, just about 2 TBS for the 4 thighs.  Came out delicious.  Stay tuned for the posted picture tonight…forgot my camera!

After reviewing the two books, I’ve came up with some solid guidelines to follow for the next 24 days.  Here goes nothing:

  • No caffeine
  • No sugar (only natural sugars)
  • No chips
  • No candy
  • 1-2 Alcoholic Beverages per week
  • 1 dessert per week
  • 3 dove’s chocolates per week
  • Must document every meal
  • Must have 1 serving of Protein per day
  • Must follow Nutrition guidelines
  • Must follow training log
  • No powdered proteins shakes allowed

Off to a great start today!  I’m enjoying my GoLEAN cereal made by Kashi.  I mixed in some blueberries to give myself some more nutrition.

For lunch I have my Lavash wrap – similar to last weeks post – excluding the chips since they aren’t allowed in this Challenge.  😦 

Normally I wouldn’t suggest for anyone to do such a drastic change to their lifestyle, but since this is only a short period of time and the end goal is to have more muscle mass than fat mass – I hope that I’ll pick up some good habits and get rid of some bad habits in the meantime!

So here are my starting measurements:

Left Calf   Right Calf   Hips
14 in.   14 in.    35 3/4 in.
Left Thigh   Right Thigh   Waist
21 3/4 in.   22 1/2 in.   32 in.
Left Arm   Right Arm   Chest
9 3/4 in.   9 3/4 in.   25 in.

I don’t have a solid goal as to what I would like to lose in inches.  I definitely want muscle to be visible on my body, but I don’t want to look like a body builder!  Stay tuned, this should be an interesting 4 weeks 🙂

My workout for today is to run 5 miles on the treadmill.  Our running group had to postpone today’s run because of the rain.  Also, lunges & planks are on training log.  I’ll try and post some pictures tomorrow of my meals & workout ideas from the books!

Have a great day! 

 

This entry was posted in Everyday food, My Opinion: Judy's Review, Races. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Official Challenge Rules

  1. Jamie says:

    I love powered protein shakes! Red meat doesn’t come out as well in a blender. And people look at you funny when you try!

  2. Pingback: Challenge Update – Crunch time! | Fitness 4 Looks

Leave a Reply

