Challenge day #6 – Sunny Saturday

Looking out the window, it seems warm, sunny, gorgeous – but you step out the front door, I hope you plan on wearing a scarf, hat, gloves…its cold!!! I had absolutely no plans for today except to clean my house and to have movie dates with my hubby starting at 3.  Well its past 4 now and clearly movie date night has not started because I had more homework than I anticipated.  Of course, before movie date night started, I had to update the world (hahah) on what I ate yesterday and so far today!

Friday’s Breakfast – My manager brought in Muffins, but I resisted the temptation and had a lovely…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was so hungry I ate half before taking the photo!

Then for lunch I got a Veggie Delite from Subway.  It was so boring ONLY because I am not allowed to get chips to go with my sandwich per Jillian’s workout!  Sorry, no picture, I was too hungry and forgot to take a picture…….still new at this stuff 🙂

For dinner, it was Friday, during lent, and although I don’t practice my Catholicism regularly, I try to incorporate more fish into my diet more during the winter.  Also, I tried Wheat Penne for the first time.  It was quite fabulous!  I made my own salad dressing to go along with it as the “seasoning”…Very easy to make:

*1 Garlic clove mashed, 1/2 cup EVOO, 1/4 cup Balsamic Vinegar, 1/2 tsp honey, sprinkle ground fresh pepper, shake it up, SERVE!*

So much better than wheat spaghetti!

Steamed zucchini, red peppers, cabbage, & mushrooms.

Stop & Shop Brand

I also baked some broccoli on 420 degrees for about 15 minutes with only pepper & red pepper flakes sprinkled on it.  I used Olive Oil nonstick spray on the pan.  I am not crazy about broccoli, but thought it was an interesting version.  Jamie was not a huge fan…Here’s the finished product or our supper.

Tips of broccoli were crispy, http://www.honeyandjam.com/

My dinner...

Jamie's Dinner...

The mussels were delicious and Jamie said his steak was great!  It was a simple dinner and so healthy & hearty!

So today, to start off my day I had some Cherrio’s with blueberries.  Trying to lower my cholesterol!  🙂

Regular Cherrios & Blueberries, lowfat milk

This is probably one of the first and probably the only post you’ll see for a while where milk is included…I’m not a huge fan at ALL – as you can see, I kept the serving size to a minimal!

I had a lite lunch but it was very filling and much better than the last time I tried this peanut butter.  I normally try to get unsalted/reduced salt/ no salt added…and so forth on things because why use salt?  There isn’t a benefit for salt and for so long I have gone without really using it in cooking.  So I bought this peanut butter and regretted it when I used it on Wednesday, but today with a banana added to lunch, it made a world of a difference!

Other than the sodium content, no difference from the regular Teddie PB.

Wheat English Muffin, 1/2 banana, 1 TBS Peanut Butter = 260 calories

And now for my start of my movie date and an afternoon snack, a nice cup of tea.

Decaffeinated

Since I started this challenge I have eliminated caffeine from my diet completely.  It hasn’t been a struggle at all.  I’ve replaced my coffee trips with tea trips and I haven’t felt the loss yet.  I do sometimes miss coffee when someone else is drinking it and I can smell it…but tea is a better alternative anyway.  So decaf it is!

Have a splendid super duper Saturday!  I will be running in the Cambridge Race tomorrow morning, I’m pretty excited – I hope to break my own personal record of 47 minutes for 5 miles.  I’d love it if I could do 5 miles in 45 minutes, so we’ll see.  I’ll keep you updated!

This entry was posted in Everyday food, Getting Personal, My Favorite Recipes, Races. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

