Racing Recap

I did it!  I beat my goal of 45 minutes, actually I finished 5 miles in 44 minutes 45 seconds!!!  It felt great to beat my goal – between miles 3 & 4 I didn’t think I was going to because it was cold, windy, sunny – but I did it, and it was an amazing feeling!  Here’s a group photo post race!

Cambridge 5 Mile City Race

My watch stated that my heart rate was at 99% max at one point, and the average was at 94% max.  I definitely didn’t feel like I was at my “max” but with the cold wind and pushing myself for this race I assume it was a combination of getting the juices flowin…

Update from my long run last week:  9 Miles – 1hr 40 minutes – 1087 calories burned – 25% fat burned.  It was definitely a tough run, and I hope to do 9.5 or 10 miles this week in 1 hour 40 minutes.  We’ll see, stay tuned for the Half Marathon Training weekly updates….

Saturday night I decided to try a couple new recipes.  They were very delicious and ones I will definitely make again soon!  Jillian Michael’s Makin the Cut, Caesar Chicken Salad Sandwiches.  As always, I adjusted the recipe for my liking & to try and make less calories, more food. 

8 oz. skinless, boneless chicken breast halves

1 TBS fresh lemon juice, divided into thirds

1 tsp reduced sodium soy sauce

3 TBS fat free mayo

2 TBS reduced fat Parmesan Cheese

1 tsp honey mustard (recipe calls for Dijon mustard)

½ tsp minced garlic

1/8 tsp fresh ground black pepper

2 Lavash wraps

2-4 Romaine Lettuce Leaves

1 Plum Tomato

  1.  Combine Chicken, 2 tsp lemon juice & soy sauce in a large zip lock bag, seal and marinate in fridge for 10 minutes.  Remove chicken from bag and grill 🙂  once cooked, shred chicken.
  2. Combine 1 tsp lemon juice, mayo, parmesan cheese, honey mustard, minced garlic, & black pepper.  Spread onto Lavash wraps.  Place Lettuce leaves, plum tomatoes, and shredded chicken on wraps.  Roll up and enjoy 🙂

Delicious - I may never buy store made dressing again.

So delicious! So much healthier than a sub restaurant!

As an appetizer we had Kale Crisps – recipe provided by Dr. Franson!

Chop Kale into bite size pieces; mix with 1 TBS EVOO, 1 garlic clove minced, salt/pepper to taste.

As a side dish with the wraps we had sweet potato fries.

Slice potato. Spray pan with nonstick EVOO, sprinkle red pepper flakes, black pepper, & salt. Bake on 400 for approximately 25-30 minutes.

That was a delicious Saturday night dinner…Now for Sunday nights prerace breakfast and post race lunch/dinner…

Wheat English Muffin, 1 TBS Teddy unsalted PB, 1/4 banana, handful of Blueberries = YUMMMM

Found nice wheat buns….for the burger…

Sauteed Onions & Mushrooms - Low fat cheese - 2 slices of tomato = YUM again...

I later realized I am not allowed to eat crutons or craisins per Jillian's workout - 😦 very sad...but I made my own salad dressing: 1/2 C EVOO, 1/3 C Balsamic Vinegar, 1 mashed Garlic Clove, Pepper to taste, 1 tsp Honey, very simple, very inexpensive, very delicious!

And that was dinner…of course we had our usual Sunday once my race was over…We went for a hike in Manchester.  It was amazing to see the damage from the recent rain storm. 

Wood Pecker - sooo cute!!!

Storm Damage

 

Can you find Lena in this photo? Dead center...allllll the way in the back! Silly pup, she didn't want to walk with us!

 Thanks for tuning in to my weekend treats and workout!  I appreciate the visits!!!  Remember its Monday – there’s no better way to start your lifestyle change than setting aside sometime to focus on your goals!  What are you eating today? 

This week’s quote:  “Love many, trust few & always paddle your own canoe”

This entry was posted in Everyday food, My Favorite Recipes, Workout Equipment, Workout Tips & Ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

