Horray for Hump Day!

Other than the fact that its Wednesday and there are only 2 more full work days in the week – how excited are you for the weekend!?!?!?  So lately I have felt slightly drained and find that by 2PM I have lost all energy and motivation.  I’m not sure why, but I’m starting to think it could be the lack of carbs.  Considering I work out 5 times per week, with atleast 25 minutes of cardio each time – maybe I need to implement carbs (wheat pasta) into my diet. 

To help me not die, here’s to trying a healthy afternoon snack, I bought Wasa CrackersThey are the only crackers on Jillian’s grocery list.  Pretty bland, but very filling.  I plan on adding at most 1 TBS natural peanut butter to the top.  Stay tuned for the glorious picture! 

 Tuesday’s workout consisted of a 40 minute run, which I managed to do 4.2 miles.  I did 6 sprints at 7.5mph, 3 sprints lasting 30 seconds, 3 lasting 1 minute.  My “jog” speed was at 6.1.  I didn’t want to work out yesterday, but I went – I have no idea what motivated me to do so, but I was thrilled that I got my hiney to the gym (is that how you spell it?)! 

So what motivates you?  Is it your coworkers?  Is it your lover?  Is it a celebrity?  Is it the healthy food?  Is it how you feel after a great workout?  I’d be interested to know!

My post run workout consisted of some circuit training.  Frog kicks, Butt Kicks, Pelvic Thrusts, Reverse Planks, Toe Touch crunches and Superman’s. 

As you can see, I used my coffee table again...Legs should be hanging off.

See why they call it a frog kick? Feet should be in line with your bum, you should look flat. Do 3 sets of these with 10 repetitions. This works your hamstrings, core, and glutes.

Can you tell my husband has a ball taking these photos?  He’s so great, isn’t he?

Strange name, but its true! Feet placed at a higher incline...coffee table, couch, there's got to be something at home you could use!

Can you tell I'm not a professional? My face expressions are brutal! Anyhow, do 3 sets, 15 reps each. Works your glutes & core.

 After I was done working out, I made a delicious dinner!  Unlike Monday night when I wasn’t too satisfied, I made what I like to call, Mango Chicken:

1 Mango cubed, 1 tomatoe cubed, 1/4 small red onion chopped, 1/4 cup cilantro.  Roll this mixture in chicken breasts.  Bake on 375 for about 30-35 minutes.  Sooooo delicious!  This is a must keep and must make!  Add cheese if you’d like, but be careful not to add too much…

As side dishes I made Jillian’s Garlic Green beans.  I heated Pam EVOO spray with 1 garlic clove in a skillet.  Added green beans.  5 minutes in I added 1/4 cup of water, gradually – add black pepper to taste.  After another 5 minutes I removed from heat, and tossed with Lemon Juice, approximately 1 TBS.  AMAZING!   

My second side dish I got from the blog TheDailyBalance.   The only thing I did to change up the recipe was add Pam Butter rather than actual butter.  It came out soooo good, my husband said he would definitely like to eat these again!  They definitely have a distinctive flavor – but if you’ve never tried a turnip before, I would suggest trying it this way! 

And the finished product looked like this……

How great does this dish look? So many good vitamins, so much sweetness in the chicken!

So Wednesday is “breakfast day” here at work.  Each week we take turns and each bring in breakfast.  Some bring in bagels w/cream cheese, muffins, quiche, pancakes, waffles, smoothies, etc…Today I decided to bring in Almond Honey Power Bars taken from the Eating Well website.  As usual, I manipulated the recipe to make it slightly healthier, still flavorable, and of course my own! 

Here’s are the ingredients I used and how it’s made:

  • 1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup almonds chopped
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds  
  • 1 cup Kashi’s 7 Whole Grain Puffs Cereal
  • 1/3 cup chopped dried apricots
  • 1/3 cup chopped golden raisins
  • 1/4 cup creamy almond butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Coat an 8-inch-square pan with cooking spray.
  2. Spread oats, almonds, and sunflower seeds, on a large, rimmed baking sheet. Bake until the oats are lightly toasted and the nuts are fragrant, shaking the pan halfway through, about 10 minutes. Transfer to a large bowl. Add cereal, apricots and raisins; toss to combine.
  3. Combine almond butter, honey, and vanilla in a small saucepan. Heat over medium-low, stirring frequently, until the mixture bubbles lightly, 2 to 5 minutes.
  4. Immediately pour the almond butter mixture over the dry ingredients and mix with a spoon or spatula until no dry spots remain. Transfer to the prepared pan. Lightly coat your hands with cooking spray and press the mixture down firmly to make an even layer. Refrigerate until firm, about 30 minutes; cut into 8 bars.

They are so good, hubby asked me to make them again!!! So simple! It took me about 20 minutes to make.

 They have the sweetness that we all crave but with all the right flavors and ingredients!  Other than the almond butter, it only costs $6 to make a 9×12 tray.  If you were to buy these at the store, they would charge you $1 each (atleast) and who knows what sorts of ingredients they would put in them.  If you feel like adding more of a sweetness, you could add mini chocolate chips to them.  If you make this recipe, let me know if you make any adjustments, I’d be interested to hear what other flavors you used!!! 

Have a great hump day!  Eat Well, Workout Hard, Think Positive!  You can do it!  Don’t forget to comment on what motivates YOU! 🙂

This entry was posted in My Favorite Recipes, Workout Tips & Ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Horray for Hump Day!

  1. yaaaay for turnips! I’m so glad you enjoyed the recipe 😉 The Almond Honey Power Bars look fantastic! thanks for sharing the recipe 😉

  2. Erin says:

    Wow, great workout! Those bars look yummy.

Leave a Reply

