Recovery Tuesday

The number 1 reason why you should never deprive yourself – you end up indulging to a point of feeling sick!  Clearly with this “challenge” I embarked on 2 weeks ago I had no idea what my body would get used to.  I had been eating all natural foods, mostly veggies, limiting sweets.  I had chocolate mousse on Thursday night, Chocolate cake on Friday night, Bertucci’s & bread on Saturday, more chocolate mousse on Sunday + Easter dinner….needless to say I have been spending lots of time in the bathroom the past couple of days!  Ok – enough about my digestive system…

I started off my Saturday on the right track…Green Monster anyone?

Kale, Banana, Blueberries, Soy Yogurt = Delicious

And then…even though we brought a banana, a couple power bars, mixed nuts….we got hungry after HOURS of shopping…so…..

Veggie Pizza all over - Jamie got spicy sausage on half...

How was everyone’s Easter? Mine was splendid!  We did a Easter/Birthday dinner at my mothers and the weather was beautiful.  We ate outside since it was so nice!

Turkey = my favorite!

Mom's version of Stove Top w/some added onions, celery, not sure what else?!

some “healthy” side dishes….I close my eyes when mom adds the butter…YIKES!

But of course – I never show up anywhere empty handed…sooooo I made a little sweet dessert 🙂

My version of Martha Stewart's

I know you’re all asking – were they as good as they look….the answer = YES.  Jamie ate 6 of them, I ate 2…and that left 1 for my mom!

Recipe:

  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 large eggs
  • Vanilla Cream (1 cup heavy cream, 1 vanilla bean split, scraped, pod reserved, 2 TBS confectioner’s sugar – combine and refrigerate for 1 hour)
  • 2 cups strawberries
  • Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment. Bring milk, water, and butter to a boil in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Remove from heat, and stir in flour. Return to heat, and cook, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon, until mixture pulls away from sides of pan, about 4 minutes. Transfer to the bowl of a mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Mix on medium speed to cool slightly, about 1 minute. With machine running, add eggs, 1 at a time, mixing well after each addition. Transfer dough to a pastry bag fitted with a 1/2-inch round tip.
  2. Pipe twenty 2 1/2-inch-long eclairs onto each sheet. Bake until eclairs rise and are golden brown, 20 to 25 minutes. Transfer to wire rack to cool.
  3. Split eclairs in half lengthwise using a serrated knife. Pipe vanilla cream onto eclair bottoms. Spoon macerated berries on top of cream, and sandwich with eclair tops. Dust with confectioners’ sugar. Serve immediately.
  4. Bake the mini eclairs the day you plan on serving them.

Optional Topping…In a saucepan, melt 6 oz semi sweet chocolate with 1/2 cup heavy cream, whisk together.  Dip the tops of the eclairs before sandwiching together.  DELICIOUS!

They were so light & fluffy and the filling was so good and light that it was refreshing.  Definitely keep refrigerated if you make these ahead of time and its warm out…ENJOY!

So its back to reality, back to work, back to a normal eating routine!  I definitely want to be more careful about what I’m eating as far as depriving myself because I have NO self control.  I want to be able to enjoy sweets but I don’t want to feel like I neeeeeed to eat it every day every meal because its been so long.  This is WHYYYY I hate the word “diet” and WHYYYYY I hate when people go on a temporary change…its a lifestyle…make it work for yourself 🙂

Tonights dinner was sooo simple.  I used bread crumbs, sprinkled on chicken breast and baked on 400 degrees for about 20 minutes.  I steamed zucchini, mushrooms, and summer squash.  I made a bean dip that had black eye peas, 1 garlic clove, sprinkled some cumin and crushed corainder seed.  Came out VERY good.  Added tomatoes, 1/2 slice provolone cheese, and spinach to top it off on a lavash wrap.

Delicious - will definitely make again!

Anyone watch 24 last night?  OR DWTS?  What is going on?  I was upset with the ending on 24…I don’t like it when people die!  DWTS, is it just me or is Pamela Anderson sort of strange?

Have a great evening…the weather here in MA is supposed to be so nice tomorrow – 80 degrees!  I went for a run today in shorts and a t-shirt and I LOVED it!  5 miles, 48 minutes, 579 calories burned, 25% fat burned….

Challenge” Update – same weight, measurements are still the same as week 1…we’ll see, maybe in another 2 weeks there will be a difference.  Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Everyday food, My Favorite Recipes, Workout Tips & Ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

