Day 1 & 2 in Tennessee

So we made it!  14 hours after leaving MA we arrived in TN – boy is Virginia a long state to drive through, especially when you are driving southwest in a diagonal direction.  We only stopped for gas 2 times…and snacks that we consumed were Dove’s chocolates, trail mix, and rice cakes with peanut butter.

Jamie was sort of surprised when I was taking a picture of this at 3AM and the flash went off...oops, probably should have warned him 🙂

We went straight for a hike when we got here in a really pretty park right outside of Bristol TN (may have been in another town, not sure).  I couldn’t narrow down the photo’s so far from the trip!  There are so many cows.  Have you ever seen a cow walk? I guess they don’t do much walking, but while I was driving Jamie saw a herd running – I’m jealous!  It’s day two and all I’ve seen through VA and TN are cows, I almost never want to eat cows again.  Is it OK to bring one home with me?  They are so cute!!


First night in TN, smores by the fire 🙂
                          

Here's where I got my coffee at 5AM...I was in such a silly mood and thought it was the funniest name for a coffee shop!

Today was a really cool day!  We went hiking up a mountain, didn’t quite get to the top since we had 3 children age 5 and under, with 4 adults we basically took turns carrying the kids haha, lets just say my left forearm got a GREAT workout today!  Oh boy do we love them, they are so worth the soreness 🙂  I’m definitely taking into account that I burned a lot of calories carrying 40lbs!!

This was a really nice view... Appalachian trail is behind us!

This crack in the road separated TN from NC...left foot was in TN, right foot was in NC!

Our friends parents have this view from their porch....I could wake up to that every day, couldn't you?

This is an amazing view...

So onto the food/fitness aspect of the blog site…Yesterday, on barely any sleep (max 4 hours) my friend who has been training for the half marathon we have this Saturday and I went for a 3 mile run.  Let me tell you, TN is quite hilly!  It wasn’t too bad, but it was definitely not what I was used to in MA…3 miles, 27 minutes, 320 calories burned, 20% fat burned.

Today I have had the most amazing food – starting with biscuits, ending with more biscuits, fried chicken, mac n cheese, green beans, salad, brownies covered in fudge, chocolate truffles…I would really make a life out of this food!!!!  Our friends mom suggested buying the Roan Mountain cookbook…I’m so up for that, there will be so many recipes I’ll want to try!  She even mentioned chocolate gravy!

Ohhh so delicious....I could eat these allllll day

This chicken was out of this world...

So I’ve had a lot of “firsts” here in TN.  One being riding a 4 wheeler….yup – I enjoyed it!!!

I was a little hesitant at first, but it was so much fun!

So needless to say the trip is going very well!  I’m sure I’ll post again at some point in the week…

It’s a beautiful state & there’s much to see!

This entry was posted in Everyday food, Getting Personal, Workout Tips & Ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 1 & 2 in Tennessee

  1. Yes, TN is quite hilly! I swear I was in the best shape of my life when I ran there.

  2. Hannah Jenkins says:

    I am so glad you are here and you are doing great with the hills!!

Leave a Reply

