I did not abandon my blog! PROMISE!

I know its been so long since I last wrote (so sorry!!!) but I did not forget about my blog!  Thanks for everyone who came by and checked me out although I hadn’t posted anything!

This was a few minutes after the race...maybe about 15....I am tiiiiiirrrreeeeeed 🙂

Anyhow – I FINISHED MY HALF MARATHON!!!  It was one of the most amazing days in my life!  Did you know that Elizabethton TN is about 1600 ft above sea level?  Did you know that Nashville is about 600 ft above sea level?  Did you know that Gloucester is 10 ft above sea level 🙂 Needless to say, with the elevation, the hills, and the heat, it didn’t stop me!  It felt like the race was about 70% up hill – BRUTAL!  I drank about a gallon of water the day before (usually I drink about 100 oz.) and I still had to drink cytomax and water at each water station.  The cytomax, I think, helped with the energy boost but it was super sweet so I had to wash it down with water every time.  I was pretty bitter about my finish time.  My original goal when I registered was 2H10Min – Once I was done with my training, I had done 12 miles in 1H54Min so I thought I may be able to finish this race in under 2 hours with the adrenaline rush.  Well, I finished in 2H10Min38SECONDS…those damn 38 seconds.  I am happy that I finished, and the hubby, amongst others, tells me I’m crazy for beating myself up about it – but really I try to think about how I could have beaten that time, I didn’t have it in me to push anymore, I pushed to finish!  It was hard, but it was so worth it! 

FYI – Running for that long, you burn 1600 calories – CRAZINESS!

The hubby was about 1/2 mile away from the finish line waiting to see me cross & he got this picture! How awesome huh - GOOOO # 14762

Needless to say that evening was one of the worst in my life.  I went in a jacuzzi after the race, I 100% dehydrated myself, got a cold, and crashed.  We were supposed to be out celebrating, instead I was suffering with cold sweats, crying and felt like I was going to die!  Our anniversary dinner consisted of ice cream since we both came down with a cold (how romantic huh!)…I guess I should be happy we aren’t at the Grand Ole Opry right now…our room is probably flooded with all the rain TN got!

How sick do we look - my gosh I feel like I look deadly. We didn't even care what we looked like! Jamie wrote in my anniversary card "Let this be our worst anniversary!" It was the worst feeling!

I still have so much to blog about, but I wanted to give everyone an update on the race.  It was so much fun and I can’t wait to do my next one…I will BEAT those 38 seconds!  🙂  HAVE A GREAT DAY!

This entry was posted in Getting Personal, Workout Equipment. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I did not abandon my blog! PROMISE!

  1. jadeylangley says:

    haha, amazing! Great job! You did it!

  2. Susan says:

    Congrats on the race!!!! Don’t beat yourself up about the time. I didn’t hit my time goal for my triathlon and was really upset about it for a week. Almost a year later, I can’t even remember what my time was – just that I finished the stupid thing! 😛

    I remember reading this thing that our immune systems go into hyper-drive when we’re preparing for a stressful event – then crash the second it’s over. It’s a survival thing. Sounds like that’s what happened. At least you’ll be able to laugh about your anniversary in the future!

  3. Erin says:

    AWESOME JOB!!!!!!!!! That time is great! Don’t beat yourself up about those 38 seconds.

    I hope you’re feeling better.

  4. Congrats on a great race!

  5. guccishoes says:

    Thanks for making such a valuable blog, sincerely Kobos Mathers.

    [url=http://guccishoes.blogs-blogs.com/54745/A+Guccio+Gucci+Story.html]Gucci Shoes[/url]

Leave a Reply

