Back in Action!

Ok, so I know its been a while since I last wrote – but I have a semi-legitimate reason, well I guess that’s for you to decide!  My husband and I are trying to conceive (its been almost 2 years of trying).  When I was training for my Half my cycle got a little out of wack; therefore resulted in the Dr suggesting I scale back – but instead of keeping up at a few miles, I quit all together and used it as an excuse (super bad idea!!).  I have now been given permission to run but not over do (or incrase my mileage more than .5 miles/week).  So here I am…back being motivated!!  Plus, I could lose the 10 lbs I gained in the past year!!!

So I have been moderately running over the past month, SO EXCITED!  It feels soooo good to be working out again.  Energy levels are great, motivation is great, weather is cooling down so its actually nice to run outside!  I ran a 7 mile road ace on Sunday with a friend who has done 10+ marathons (AMAZING)!!!  It was tough, but I really enjoyed doing it!  So much so that I am signing up for 2 more 10k races in the next couple of months!  Its a perfect distance, keeps you motivated while not overworking your body!  I was pretty sore, but managed to go out for a small run of 2 miles in 20 minutes!

 

So I have also been cooking some delicious recipes.  We’ve been getting our vegetables from a local Farm – Farmer Dave’s every monday.  It lasts about 17 weeks and this is our first time trying it out.  It has been completely worth it and I don’t want it to end!!  Here’s what was on the menu last night:

Kale Soup

Kale (sliced very thin)
1 small onion, sliced
6 potatoes
1/3 cup Olive Oil
2 Cups of Linguica 
1 tsp salt/ pepper to taste

  1. Add Potatoes, onion, garlic, olive oil, and salt to cold water in a pot. Once the potatoes are cooked, you will need to puree the cooked onion, garlic, and potatoes in a food processor.
  2. Once you are done, add the mixture back to the pot and add the kale and linguica. Cook for about 15 minutes or until the kale is cooked.  Ham would be a good alternative also! 
    On the menu today is some watermelon (from Farmer Dave’s) and some more Kale Soup.  Its quite delicious!

Well – Hope everyone has a great day!  Thanks for visiting!!!

This entry was posted in Getting Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

