Chocolate Lovers Cupcake

 Well, since I had some extra time on my hands I decided to bake some cupcakes last night.  I didn’t have enough time to make them entirely homemade, but I added some pizazz!  While I’m writing, I’d like to give a big shout out to Duncan Hines for making life a little easier when baking.  I don’t buy any other brand of cake batter unless I am making a fully homemade cake! 

So I made the batter for the cake and then inserted a piece of semi sweet chocolate into the center for an added bonus (like I said above, pizazz!!!).  I wasn’t sure if this was going to work since I’ve never been too creative when baking!  Well it did my dear, it tasted fabulous!  While the cupcakes were baking I made my super easy, homemade frosting:

First, beat 1/3 Cup of Butter in a mixer

Add the following ingredients to the mixing bowl:

1/4 Cup of low fat milk

4 cups confectioners sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1 pinch of salt

Mix all of these ingredients for about 2 minutes, stopping occasionally to scrape the side of the bowl.  If the frosting is looking too dry, add a very small amount of milk and continue mixing. 

Add Food coloring if desired for some extra pizazz!!!

Once the cupcakes are cooled, add frosting and you are ready to indulge!!!  I know I sure enjoyed eating one of these while watching Captain America with the hubby! 

Don’t these look so delicious!!
I added some sprinkles for a more festive look!

If you’d like to print my frosting recipe, feel free to do so – ButterCream Frosting Recipe!  You sure won’t regret it!!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Everyday food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

