Portuguese Kale Soup

Happy Hump Day!!!  Only two more work days until it’s the weekend 🙂

So I might have mentioned this in the past – but I come from a Portuguese heritage.  Growing up, I ate a lot of home cooked Portuguese meals.  Not many meals revolved around Americanized dishes (I had no idea what I was missing until I went to college!!).  One of my favorite recipes which I still cannot perfect it the way my mom did is Kale Soup.  It’s very easy, so delicious, and nutritional.  

Ingredients include:

                Kale (sliced very thin)

                1 small onion, sliced

                6 potatoes

                1/3 cup Olive Oil

                Linguica – A piece about 8 inches long

                1 tsp. salt

Add Potatoes, onion, garlic, olive oil, and salt to cold water in a pot. Once the potatoes are cooked, you will need to puree the cooked onion, garlic, and potatoes in a food processor. Once you are done, add the mixture back to the pot and add the kale along with the linguica. Cook for about 15 minutes or until the kale is cooked.  Click here to print recipe – Kale Soup.

It's so delicious and nutritional, how can you even resist!!

I hope you enjoy this as much as I do!  If you decide not to add the linguica, I’d suggest adding another vegetable to give it some flavor.  Without the linguica it can be pretty bland.  Sausage or ham would work or roasted red peppers would go well for vegetarians. 

Enjoy, have a fabulous evening!

This entry was posted in Everyday food, My Favorite Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

