Old Post from May!!

I found this post in my drafts folder and felt that I should share since it seemed like I needed to vent 🙂

I just want to start off by saying THANK YOU to everyone that day after day waited for me to post something on my blog!  It’s been a crazy couple of weeks and I needed to get back into the groove of things.  I thought about posting every day but before I knew it, it was 9 or 10 at night and I was falling asleep.

Anyhow – I FINISHED THE HALF MARATHON!!!  It was honestly one of the best days of my life!  There was so much excitement, so much adrenaline, and so much happiness in the air!  It was a hot day, about 70 degrees when the race started.  It felt like 70% of the race was uphill.  Definitely not what I was used to doing.  I trained in MA without drinking/eating anything while running, well during this race, I stopped at every mile marker and drank 1/2 cup of cytomax and 1/2 cup water to wash away the sweetness from the cytomax.  The day before the race, I drank about a gallon of water and I still felt dehydrated while running!  So I’ve been a bit bitter about my finish time.  My original goal was 2H10Min.  After actually finishing all my training I really thought that I could possibly finish in less than 2 hours or at least 2 hours 5 minutes.  I finished in 2H10Min38SECONDS…those damn 38 seconds!!!!  The hubby keeps telling me to stop being bitter about it, which is true – I’m grateful I finished!  I keep thinking about if there was any point during the race that I could have stepped it up…I can’t – I was exhausted with the heat!  I didn’t have anything left in me to push!!!

Needless to say, that evening was one of the worst…We were supposed to go out and celebrate, well if I hadn’t gone into a hot tub and completely dehydrated myself to the point of feeling like death, it would have been a fun night!!  I ended up with the worst headache in the world!!!!

This entry was posted in Getting Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

