Butternut Squash Soup & Rueben Sandwich – delightful!

So I know I usually have several weekly posts revolving around workouts and new ideas but this week I have been sick with a cold.  I recently bought a treadmill that I typically use 1-2 times a week depending on the weather.  Stay tuned for an interesting post recapping my experience with that new purchase!!

Due to having a cold, there was a pretty limited amount of cooking at home.  I made Butternut Squash soup which came out pretty delicious and we ate that two nights in a row!

Butternut Squash Soup – Click to print recipe!

Either 1 small or ½ of a Large Butternut Squash, chopped – See post from Vegetable share to see how large my Squash was!!

½ of an average size yellow onion

1 Medium size turnip, chopped

1 small garlic clove minced

Chives or Thyme for presentation

16 oz. of Organic Vegetable Broth

16 oz. of Water

1 TBS of EVOO

 Chop the onion and combine with EVOO and garlic in a sauce pan.  Once the onions are translucent, add the Broth, Water, Turnip, and Squash.  Cook for about 25 minutes or until the Squash is soft.  At this point, remove the Turnip, Squash, and some of the broth and place into the blender.  Puree all of the ingredients and place back into the sauce pan.  Cook for about 10 minutes – ready to serve!!

To go along with the soup, on the second night I made Rueben sandwiches from a Corned Beef dinner I made on Monday night.  Its extremely easy, very inexpensive and tastes delicious!  All you need is Rye bread, Thousand Island dressing, Gruyere cheese, sauerkraut which is optional, and a panini maker!

Be careful not to fill too high or else the blender will explode!!

So easy to make and so delicious!This is my favorite Vegetable Broth that I buy unless I can make it to Trader Joe's or Whole Foods!

So, are my photo’s improving?  Any fun plans for the weekend?  Do something healthy and fabulous for yourself today 🙂

This entry was posted in Everyday food, My Favorite Recipes, My Opinion: Judy's Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

