Chicken Soup cures the Soul

Why is it that Chicken soup can really just cure about anything?  I was feeling so sick
over the weekend, I decided to make some homemade Chicken Soup.  Whenever I would go to Portugal to visit my extended family, the first meal we would eat was Chicken Soup.  My uncle is a butcher and owns a farm so more often than not; the chicken soup would extremely fresh – which is very unlikely here when you buy a store bought chicken.

My Chicken Soup Recipe is super easy and extremely
affordable coming in at $10.19 to feed 4 people:

Ingredients:

  • 1 TBS EVOO
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 Bay leaves
  • 1 Split Chicken Breast
  • 2 cups noodles
  • 7-8 small carrots, chopped
  • 5 celery stalks, chopped

Heat the EVOO, garlic and onion in a large sauce pan until the onions are translucent.  Once the onions are cooked, add the split chicken breast and bay leaves.  At this point you want to add enough water to the saucepan.  I usually fill the pan 3 quarters of the way.  Let this cook on medium/high for about an hour.  The longer you let the chicken cook the better the broth will be!  The chicken will fall right off the bone!  Now, add the celery, carrots, and noodles.  Let this cook for about 15 minutes.

Sooo good, I can't wait to have another bowl tonight for dinner!

The way I calculated how much the dinner costs was:

Vegetable Share comes out to $16.28 per week.  Since the carrots, celery, onions and garlic only makes up 1/3 of the vegetables I got this week; I figured it costs about $5.42. 

The chicken was on sale $.99/lb and I cooked 3.18 lbs. – $3.14

I only used about ½ a box of pasta – $.63

The EVOO & bay leaves were the only two ingredients I already had at home.  Considering the portion size, it couldn’t equate to more than $1 total for the two ingredients.  Not bad eh?

In addition to making some chicken soup, I was in the mood for some apple pie.  It was a great day to watch football (Go Pat’s!) and catch up on the X Factor!  I have no idea who my favorite contestant is right now because they are all so different!   The young kids are truly amazing!  What’s your favorite fall TV Show?

How delicious does this look?!?! I also can't wait to go home and have another piece of pie for dessert! I really need to run tonight!

Today’s lunch was pretty delicious!  On Monday’s I usually like to start off my week with Subway.  I get the Veggie Delight with either provolone or swiss, depending on my mood.  Today’s I went with Provolone.  The sandwich is 230 calories without cheese – which is fabulous.  I always get a foot long for $5 and two bags of chips so that I can save half of the sandwich for the next day along with a bag of chips.  The total bill comes to $7.68 – so two lunches, under $4 each – can’t beat that!!

I love how you can make this sandwich to order. I get lettuce, tomato, red onions, jalapeno's, black olives and green peppers. Sometimes I also add cucumbers or pickles, depending on my mood that day 🙂

I’m looking forward to running today after work.  The weather is phenominal for November in Boston!  I can’t be sure how far I’ll run considering I’m still fighting this cold – but as long as I get a good sweat going, that’s more than I did last week!

What are your goals for this week?  What’s the #1 thing you would like to
accomplish?

Have you submitted your answer to yesterday’s Poll yet?  If not, be sure to do so and enter to win a fabulous prize from ME!  The deadline is Wednesday night!  I’ll post my apple pie recipe on Thursday once everyone has had a chance to submit an answer.  Remember, we need at least 40 people to enter.  Be sure to follow me on twitter to increase your chances of winning!   In addition, for every new person that follows me on twitter you get your name entered again to win a prize- so foward my blog around follow me on twitter and better your chances!

This entry was posted in Giveaways, My Favorite Recipes, My Opinion: Judy's Review. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken Soup cures the Soul

  1. Pingback: Baby Steps | Fitness 4 Looks

Leave a Reply

