Monday workout = Fab start of the week!

Yesterday was the first day in a week that I finally felt like I was getting over this darn cold.  I swear it was my homemade Chicken Soup!  I also think that my fabulous run last night had something to do with it!!!  I probably could have ran longer but I didn’t want to push too hard since I didn’t work out all last week.

My workout last night consisted of the following: 

  1. 2 sets of Abs
  2. 3 sets of inclined sit ups
  3. 3 sets of biceps with my 5lb weights
  4. 50 Ab twists with a 6lb medicine ball
  5. Cardio included running for 25 minutes 23 seconds which was 1.8 miles running with 3 intervals each 45 seconds long at 7.7 speed on the treadmill and .5 mile warm up/cool down.

If you’re looking to get a great interval workout – check out Fit Chick in the City’s blog.  She has a ton of useful tips on burning calories, increasing speed, and increasing mileage!

I must say, I felt wonderful when I finished!!!

Results - my heart rate was too high apparently. Probably due to my cold! But I burned 310 calories which was fabulous!

A lot of people say that they don’t have the motivation to work out at home and don’t bother spending the money on equipment.  I on the other hand LOVE working out at home much more than spending $40+ a month to go to a place full of sweaty people and sometimes wait for a machine to use.  Therefore I have created my own personal gym which has all of my favorite workout tools!

My treadmill, which is the newest addition to my gym is fabulous! I have two yoga mats (that I should probably do more yoga on!). I love my 6lb medicine ball, probably my second favorite item pictured here! I have two 8lb and two 5lb weights also!

What’s your favorite workout equipment?

Dinner on the other hand wasn’t all that fancy.  I had left over Chicken Soup and the hubby ate Pasta Alfredo with Romanesco Broccoli which came from last weeks Vegetable Share.  Of course since this was the first time I had ever even heard of this type of broccoli, I had to try it – and it tasted exactly the same as regular broccoli!

Not a very fancy photo, but you get the point, right?

For dessert I made apple chips!!  These are so delicious, so easy, and so good for you!  YOu need to make the apple slices super thin.  For every apple you slice, use 1/2 TBS of sugar.  Depending on how much you enjoy cinnamon, I just sprinkle it right onto the apple slices.  Remember to spray the baking sheet so that the apples don’t stick!  Bake these at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes.  Keep an eye on them since they could actually cook quickly and you could burn them – yikes!

Mine were slightly overcooked, but they really have a nice crunch!

 Have you submitted your answer to Sunday’s Poll yet?  If not, be sure to do so and enter to win a fabulous prize from ME by leaving a comment!  The deadline is tomorrow night!  I’ll post my apple pie recipe on Thursday once everyone has had a chance to submit an answer and a comment.  Remember, we need at least 40 people to enter.  Be sure to follow me on twitter to increase your chances of winning!   In addition, for every new person that follows me on twitter you get your name entered again to win a prize- so foward my blog around follow me on twitter and better your chances!

Have a fabulous day!  Thanks for visiting 🙂

This entry was posted in Everyday food, Gear, Shoes, Shirts, etc., Polar Support, Workout Equipment. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday workout = Fab start of the week!

  1. Thanks for your article. My partner and i have usually noticed that many people are needing to lose weight when they wish to appear slim and attractive. Even so, they do not continually realize that there are other benefits for you to losing weight additionally. Doctors declare that fat people suffer from a variety of ailments that can be directly attributed to their own excess weight. Fortunately that people that are overweight as well as suffering from a variety of diseases can help to eliminate the severity of their own illnesses simply by losing weight. You’ll be able to see a constant but marked improvement in health while even a slight amount of fat reduction is achieved.

  2. Lacey says:

    Excellent! Workout at home is the best and so easy with the right stuff. Thanks for the tips.

Leave a Reply

