Organic & Gluten Free Italian Dinner

How do you say “delicious” in Italian?  Delizioso – according to google translate!  Last nights dinner is by far on of my favorite meals – Spaghetti and Meatballs with Cheesey Garlic Bread.  The best part about this meal was that it was all organic and under $15.

Pasta Sauce – Homemade

  • 1 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes w/basil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3/4 of an onion, chopped
  • 1/4 tsp of salt
  • 1tsp of pepper
  • 5 tsp of sugar
  • 1 TBS of EVOO

In a medium size sauce pan, saute the onions and garlic.  Once the onions are sauted, add the tomato sauce, salt, pepper, and sugar.  Let this cook for about 45 minutes.  Taste for seasonings.  Depending on how sweet you like your sauce, you may want to add more sugar.

Turkey Meatballs

  • 16 oz. Ground Turkey
  • 1/3 green pepper, chopped very fine
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/4 cup of parsley, chopped
  • 1/4 of an onion, chopped
  • 1 egg
  • Salt / Pepper

Blend all of the ingredients together and form into 1 inch balls.  Lay on a baking sheet.  Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes.

This is my home grown parsley!!!

Cheesy Garlic Bread

  • 2 TBS EVOO
  • 1 small garlic clove, minced
  • 5 slices of Ciabatta bread
  • 1 TBS parsley, chopped
  • 1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

Mix the EVOO, garlic, and parsley together.  Spread over Ciabatta bread.  Sprinkle cheddar cheese on top.  Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.  YUM YUM!!!!

Of course, cook pasta to go along with the three items listed above.  I chose to make Tinkyaga Fettucini, whole wheat Pasta.  This was my first time trying out this brand and I really enjoyed it.  This was actually the first time I’ve had wheat pasta and 100% enjoyed it.  I will never buy another other brand of wheat pasta!

And the final product looked like….oh my – so good!

So I know it must be hard to believe, but this entire dinner was under $15.  I calculated my dinner by taking the five ingredients I bought at Stop and Shop.  Plus averaging out the cost of my onion, pepper, and garlic from the Vegetable Share this week.  The only ingredients I did not need to buy were EVOO, Salt, Papper, and Parsley.

If I were to go to dinner in the North End in Boston, this dinner would easily cost $20 per plate and definitely wouldn’t be made with as much love 🙂

In all seriousness, a couple, on a date would pay a pretty penny on this delicious dinner and here you have it folk’s, you can have a delicious, gluten free, organic dinner made in under 1 hour for less than $15.

Don’t forget, today’s the last day to post a comment, follow me on twitter, and take my poll in order to win a fabulous prize from me!!! 

Have a great day!!

This entry was posted in My Favorite Recipes, Organic meals under $15. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Organic & Gluten Free Italian Dinner

  1. Your cheesy garlic bread picture just made me soo hungry!!!

Leave a Reply

